A TALE OF TWO TREES

IMG_0352

The Christmas tree stands at the center of our celebrations.  We remember the giddy excitement of small children looking in wonder and bursting with anticipation at the coming of Santa Claus.  We remember the excitement of Christmas morning-gifts and wrapping paper everywhere, breakfast around the tree.  Now we gather around the tree with our grown children, grateful that they are home for the holidays.  Wonder and anticipation bid welcome to conversation and contentment.

I always have a 10′ tree.  I can’t afford a 10′ tree so I gamble every year, waiting until the last minute when my 10′ tree has been reduced in price from $175. to $50.  It’s risky, but I’ve only missed out once.  Those last trees on the lot are destined for the chipper.  I think they know it too.  The stand a little taller and you can almost hear them whisper “pick me. Pick me.”.  And once rescued, they love you.  They don’t shed needles and they don’t die.  If you drive down my street in late January, my tree will still be lit in the window.

A Christmas tree at Santa Claus' Park. In 2005...

A Christmas tree at Santa Claus’ Park. In 2005 this was close to the entrance. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Last year Denise decided she’d like a big tree too.  We went to the lot in separate cars.  The plan was that she would follow me home, help me get my tree into the house and into the stand.  I would then follow her to do the same.  I waited in my driveway but when she didn’t show, I thought I’d misunderstood.  I got the tree in the house and in to the stand.  I was just about to drive to Denise’s house, when my phone rang.  “My tree fell off the car on the bridge.” she said in a voice mixed with horror and hilarity.  “Luckily, not off the bridge and in to the river, but on the bridge, in the middle of my lane.  No one stopped to help me.  People honked and gestured, not a happy holiday gesture either, but no one stopped to help me”.  It’s one thing to get a big tree in to the house.  It’s another to pick up a big tree from the pavement, on a busy three lane road,  get it back on the roof of your car and not die in the process.   It was a homeless man, fishing at the bottom of the bridge, who finally helped her.   Every time we looked at her tree after that we laughed and we laughed even harder when we imagined what would have happened if it had gone over the bridge and in to the river.

What I didn’t tell her about a big tree that doesn’t die is this:  when it’s time to take it down, it doesn’t go out the door.  Its lower branches have relaxed so it’s much wider than it was when you brought it in to the house.  That means you have to get your big clippers and start cutting the lower branches off until it will fit out the door.  And if you don’t judge it right, your neighbors see you with a Christmas tree half in and half out of your front door-stuck.  They might smile as they watch you push it back in to the house for another go with the clippers, but it’s the big pull that lands you on your butt on the porch that turns those grins into snickers.  This year Denise will buy a normal sized tree.  I won’t.

Denise may buy a smaller tree but this year she will have two trees.  She is a long time Star Trek fan.  While you’ll never see her in costume at a Trekkie convention, she has a collection of Star Trek ornaments she has acquired over the years.  They found their spots on her tree but she wanted more for them.  We are real tree people.  We, unfairly perhaps, look askance at those who take their trees out of closets, sometimes fully decorated.  But, in a stroke of Christmas genius, Denise realized a fake white tree would be the perfect venue for her Star Trek ornaments to finally get their due.  And being the more creative of the two of us, she even made the tree skirt.  It’s the first thing you see when you walk in her front door and it elicits the perfect Christmas response:  merriment.

IMG_0358IMG_0357

IMG_0362

No recipes this week.  We’re getting ready for holiday baking.  But here are the directions for making Denise’s tree skirt.  Pictures don’t do it justice.

Christmas Tree Skirt

  • 2 yards ornamental netting (purchased at fabric store)
  • festive ribbon
  • about 80 light string

Roll out fabric, place lights inside of netting, tie ribbon at about 1 – 1/2 foot spaces.  Place as a skirt at bottom of tree and light up.  How beautiful!

IMG_0376IMG_0365

This entry was posted in ALL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A TALE OF TWO TREES

  1. lillianccc says:

    I can just imagine how terrible and hilarious it must have been when the tree fell into the middle of the road! It’s a little ironic that a homeless man ended up helping out but I guess that’s just how things often like to work out. 🙂 The white tree is beautiful! Wishing both of you a merry holiday season!

  2. The tree falling off the car and getting rescued is making me smile – of course, as no one was hurt, even the tree. I’m sure that both of your houses are beyond gorgeous and I only wished we could come over for a Christmas cookie….and a glass of wine!

  3. we are grateful we didn’t have to watch it floating down the river…wouldn’t it be nice to have some cookies and a glass of wine together? louisa will be home for christmas this year and is bringing some of the wines that she has made. we had a glass last year in her absence and it was as if she was with us in the room. we would love to be able to share a glass with the two of you.

  4. Oh, the white Star Trek tree is so creative and fun! Thanks for sharing part of your Christmas fun.

  5. SKL New York says:

    Great post! We tried a little something different this year for our Christmas “tree”. Take a peek http://sklnewyork.wordpress.com/2012/12/09/traditional-with-a-twist/ Have a wonderful holiday!

  6. loved your tree! thanks for visiting our site. you have a wonderful holiday as well.

Leave a Reply

