THE SECOND ONE FLIES THE COOP

Posted by Denise

My second child left the following year.  He was a homebody and liked to be at home with his friends.  If you were Rory’s friend, you had to come see him.  I had boys here from 10th grade on-constantly.  I really enjoyed having the boys here.  It started out with two and ended up with six, including my son.  They would play video games into the night and, of course, I would have meals for them to share.  In Rory’s final year, I came up with game night.  The boys and I would play games such as Apples to Apples, then to Cranium, then Bezzerwizzer.  The meals started out easy in the beginning with frozen chicken nuggets, pizzas, hot pockets.  I then wanted to make something homemade.  I then started with meals that started with a box, such as velveeta macaroni and cheese and then added ingredients to make a meal.  They were my best eaters and unfortunately my best critics.  I then began to think about feeding the boys healthy meals.  I started with my chicken, sausage arugula pasta, and of course my son put his nose up in the air.  One of the boys tried the meal and the rest was history.

Game nights continued through the summer.  As summer came to a close and everyone was starting to think about what was ahead, I could tell the boys were losing interest.  But they were all there that one last game night and I knew it was for me.

Part of me thought I was losing 6 sons instead of just one.  But a summer full of game nights made it a little easier to drop Rory off at the dorm.  Another one leaves the nest.

RECIPE – RORY’S FAVORITE MEAL:  HAM, POTATOES AND STRINGBEANS

  • one cooked ham bone with some ham on it
  • juice left over from cooked ham
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 5 – 6 potatoes cubed
  • 1 pkg. frozen or fresh string beans

I do this recipe after I have cooked a ham.  We eat the ham the first day and whatever is left over on the ham I save and save the juice.  Cook ham with ham juice and water in a pot.  Cook to a boil and simmer for about 30 – 45 minutes (until the ham starts to loosen from the bone).  Remove ham bone and place potatoes in the pot cooking for about 20 minutes.  When the ham bone is cool, about 20 minutes, cut off the remaining pieces of ham in chunks.  Return the ham to the pot and add the string beans.  Cook until the string beans are cooked.

Monocromaticman

Monocromaticman (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This entry was posted in ALL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to THE SECOND ONE FLIES THE COOP

  1. lillianccc says:

    I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again: your kids are lucky to have you as their mom. The same goes for Sandy (I’m never sure which of you reads my comments but I hope you guys know they’re for the both of you 🙂 ).

  2. WIth food like this it is no wonder yours was the favorite house to hang out at….

  3. I agree, your house was the best with home cooked meals and games. I was on campus today for a class and found a tear in my eye as I looked down the hallway lined with kiddos. I was searching for a son who wasn’t there, but had moved on to a different school. Sigh….thank heavens for Skype. It seems so strange that we spend a lifetime preparing them to launch, and then….they go and we’re sad. Thanks for sharing…and allowing me to share.

Leave a Reply

